The 2019 Rugby World Cup is getting closer. There are a total of 20 positions in the qualifying team and the final position completed in November as part of the Repechage tournament. There are 12 automatic qualifications for the competition based on they entered the top three in their respective groups during the 2015 tournament that was held in England. As it is now, seven of the last eight places have been filled thanks to various regional and cross-regional matches.

Russia qualifies as the highest ranked European team in the European Rugby Championship (excluding Georgia who qualifies automatically). Fiji and Tonga qualify as the top two finishers in the Pacific Nations Cup. Samoa, who were bottom of the Pacific Nations Cup, confirmed their place after beating Germany in the playoffs. (Germany falls into the Repechage tournament). Finally, the US beat Canada in a two-match play-off and confirmed their position.

rugby world Cup 2019

The 2019 Rugby World Cup/RWC runs from Friday 20 September to Saturday 2 November 2019, with matches played throughout Japan. There is a total of 20 teams involved in the World Cup, divided into four groups consisting of five, and two organizations who finished at the top of the table after the match advanced to the quarter-finals. Twelve teams qualify automatically for RWC 2019 by competing in the top three of their group in the 2015 tournament in England.

Read More: rugby world cup live stream

The teams are New Zealand, who won the back-to-back title and want to get a hat-trick in 2019. Followed by Australia, South Africa, Argentina, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, France, England, Georgia, Japan, and Italy. The group draws itself was held in May 2017, with 12 qualified teams divided into several bands depending on their World Rugby ranks at that time. New Zealand, Britain, Australia, and Ireland are in the top group.

The US itself has the qualifications as America 1 and Uruguay has the requirement as America 2, while Fiji and Tonga managed to reach their respective finals as Oceania 1 and Oceania 2. Despite many controversies taking place in the Rugby Europe Championship, Russia finally managed to qualify for Japan as Europe 1. Next is the division of the group in RWC 2019:

  • Pool A: Ireland, Scotland, Japan, Russia, Samoa
  • Pool B: New Zealand, Italy, South Africa, Namibia, Canada
  • Pool C: England, France, Argentina, USA, Tonga
  • Pool D: Australia, Wales, Georgia, Fiji, Uruguay

The opening match of the 2019 RWC will take place at the Ajinomoto Stadium in Chōfu, Tokyo. And for the final game will be held at the Nissan Stadium in Yokohama, Kanagawa Prefecture.